Skip to main content


ECSU Scholarship Program

The Eastern Connecticut State University-American Association of University Professors (ECSU-AAUP) offers a scholarship program for ECSU undergraduate students conducting independent or collaborative research projects. The Jean H. Thoresen ECSU -AAUP Scholarship will be awarded to assist with costs related to completing one or more research or creative projects, or to present research at an academic conference. Successful applicants may receive up to $500 per application.

The Jean Thorsesen ECSU-AAUP Scholarship is named after the late Jean H. Thoresen, a devoted member of the AAUP, a tireless worker for AAUP ideals, a former ECSU-AAUP chapter president and a professor of sociology.

The deadline for receipt of proposals is the third Monday of September and the second Monday of February. Proposals must be submitted by NOON.

Applicants must submit both a digital and hard copy by the deadline to the below email and office:
ECSU-AAUP Office Science Building 452
Email: (note: put Thoresen Application in subject line)

Include the following items in your application:

  1. The application form found here: uploads/2012/09/ThoresenScholarship-Application-Form-rev.pdf
  2. A project proposal narrative must be less than four pages typed using 12-point font, 0.7-inch margins and doublespaced. It should include a clear set of goals and objectives for the project; an appropriate and feasible methodology or plan for conducting the project, including a timeline; likelihood of significant outcome, such as publication, presentation at a conference, performance or exhibition; and evidence of a well-focused and worthy project presented in relationship to the applicant’s field of study.
  3. A proposed budget with a justification of costs.
  4. Your curriculum vitae, of no more than two pages.
  5. A letter of recommendation from the supervising faculty member evaluating the feasibility of the project as proposed by the student, as well as the student’s ability to complete the project.


For any further questions, please contact Dr. Amy Groth, ECSU-AAUP treasurer, at (860) 465-3795 or at

More info on ECSU Scholarship

Latest Scholarship Winner

Read an update from our latest winner.

Read Reflection
ECSU Scholarship Program

The Jean H. Thorenson ECSU-AAUP Scholarship

Get a downloadable PDF document of the application.

Get Application