CCSU, Marcus White 316 * New Britain, CT 06050 * (860) 832-3790
Friday July 25th 2014

Legislative Alert on SB 867, An Act Concerning Faculty Representation on the BOR

Dear CSU-AAUP Member,

CSU-AAUP is asking for your help in urging legislators to support SB 867, An Act Concerning Faculty Representation on the Board of Regents for Higher Education. The legislation would allow for the chair and vice-chair of the Faculty Advisory Committee to serve as ex-officio, non-voting members of the Board of Regents. Further, and perhaps more important, it would also allow for two members of the Faculty Advisory Committee to serve on all Committees of the Board, except those dealing with personnel matters.

This is an important legislative initiative for us and the Faculty Advisory Committee to the Board of Regents. The communication structure must get fixed so that the Faculty Advisory Committee has a better voice moving forward and we believe this bill will help achieve this goal, especially if faculty are allowed to serve on Board Committees.

Chairman Robinson submitted testimony opposing the legislation, which can be viewed here, and the Board is actively lobbying against this bill.

 

The Committees are approaching deadlines to approve bills, so please write to members of the Higher Education & Employment Advancement Committee (names and emails found below) as soon as possible asking them to support this legislation.  A fact sheet is available on our website to assist you in crafting your message. Please remember that it is best to use a personal email account for any political activity.

Sincerely,

Vijay Nair, CSU-AAUP President

 

——————————————————————————————————————————————

Membership of the Higher Education & Employment Advancement Committee

Senator Beth Bye, Senate Chair

Bye@senatedems.ct.gov

 

Representative Roberta Willis, House Chair

Roberta.Willis@cga.ct.gov

 

Senator Steve Cassano, Senate Vice Chair

Cassano@senatedems.ct.gov

 

Representative Gregory Haddad, House Vice Chair

Gregory.Haddad@cga.ct.gov

 

Senator Toni Boucher, Senate Ranking Member

Toni.Boucher@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Timothy LeGeyt, House Ranking Member

Tim.LeGeyt@housegop.ct.gov

 

Representative Timothy Ackert

tim.ackert@housegop.ct.gov

 

Representative Mike Alberts

Mike.Alberts@housegop.ct.gov

 

Representative Penny Bacchiochi

Penny.Bacchiochi@housegop.ct.gov

 

Representative Juan Candelaria

Juan.Candelaria@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Patricia Dillion

Patricia.Dillon@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Bryan Hurlburt

Bryan.Hurlburt@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Claire Janowski

Claire.Janowski@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Gail Lavielle

gail.lavielle@housegop.ct.gov

 

Representative James Maroney

James.Maroney@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Douglas McCrory

Douglas.McCrory@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Robert Sanchez

Bobby.Sanchez@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Pamela Sawyer

Pamela.Sawyer@housegop.ct.gov

 

Representative Peggy Sayers

Peggy.Sayers@cga.ct.gov

 

Representative Toni Walker

Toni.Walker@cga.ct.gov

 

Members Only

Join CSU-AAUP's Discussion Group for members only

Follow the link above. Register your PERSONAL e-mail account with Google (university e-mail addresses are not allowed). Submit your name and 8 digit ID number (found on your university ID at CCSU, ECSU, and SCSU). If you have any problems signing up, please contact bensonell@ccsu.edu.

Sign up to Receive Our Weekly Newsletters