CCSU, Marcus White 316 * New Britain, CT 06050 * (860) 832-3790
Wednesday October 22nd 2014

Legislative Alert on the Governor’s Scholarship Program

Dear CSU-AAUP Member,

We are writing to ask you to help CSU-AAUP support the Governor’s Scholarship Program created by SB 844 by writing to the members of the Appropriations Committee listed after the text of this email. The proposed Governor’s Scholarship Program combines the three existing state funded student financial aid programs into a single need-based program with a need-merit award available to high achieving high school students. The three existing state funded programs are Connecticut Independent College Student Grant, Connecticut Aide to Public College Students, and the Capitol Scholarship, and they are only one form of financial aid that institutions may award.

The Governor’s Scholarship Program will correct a major flaw in the need-based programs: the lack of consistency in award amounts students may receive based on their college choice. Currently, the colleges determine the amount of funding an individual student will receive. Therefore, students with the same financial need may receive dramatically different amounts depending on the college they attend. This was not because of any mistakes or improper administration of the awards, but it demonstrates the need for a change.

Under the new proposal, colleges would be required to give the same award amount to students who exhibit similar financial need, based on the federal Expected Family Contribution (EFC). This change ensures that Connecticut’s neediest students are being treated fairly and equitably no matter which Connecticut college or university they attend. In addition, a major focus of this program is retention and completion. There is an incentive award for any student who completes a required number of credits each year and achieves a required grade point average based on their peers’ performance at all schools. We think this will encourage students to keep on track toward graduation. Finally, the Governor’s Scholarship Program will now provide awards to eligible part-time students and consider the cost of textbooks. These provisions were not part of the original proposal.

The Governor’s Scholarship Program will better assist students and their families to plan and make decisions based on their individual financial situations, because they now will know how much aid they will receive from the state prior to choosing which Connecticut college or university to attend. The Governor’s Scholarship Program is a dramatically improved aid program and a huge step forward for Connecticut’s students and institutions of higher education.

Members of the Appropriations Committee

Minnie Gonzalez Minnie.Gonzalez@cga.ct.gov  
Edwin Vargas Edwin.Vargas@cga.ct.gov  
Douglas McCrory Douglas.McCrory@cga.ct.gov  
Henry Genga henry.genga@cga.ct.gov  
Timothy LeGeyt Tim.LeGeyt@housegop.ct.gov  
Andrew Fleischmann Andrew.Fleischmann@cga.ct.gov  
Marilyn Giuliano Marilyn.Giuliano@housegop.ct.gov  
Peter Tercyak Peter.Tercyak@cga.ct.gov  
Melissa Ziobron Melissa.Ziobron@housegop.ct.gov  
Elizabeth Ritter Elizabeth.Ritter@cga.ct.gov  
Ernest Hewett Ernest.Hewett@cga.ct.gov  
Diana Urban Diana.Urban@cga.ct.gov  
Mae Flexer Mae.Flexer@cga.ct.gov  
Linda Orange Linda.Orange@cga.ct.gov  
Bryan Hurlburt Bryan.Hurlburt@cga.ct.gov  
Gregory Haddad Gregory.Haddad@cga.ct.gov  
David Kiner David.Kiner@cga.ct.gov  
Elaine O’Brien Elaine.OBrien@cga.ct.gov  
Jay Case Jay.Case@housegop.ct.gov  
Roberta Willis Roberta.Willis@cga.ct.gov  
Craig Miner Craig.Miner@housegop.ct.gov  
Arthur O’Neill Arthur.ONeill@housegop.ct.gov  
Victor Cuevas Victor.Cuevas@cga.ct.gov  
Matthew Lesser Matthew.Lesser@cga.ct.go v  
Noreen Kokoruda Noreen.Kokoruda@housegop.ct.gov  
Al Adinolfi al.adinolfi@housegop.ct.gov  
Mitch Bolinsky Mitch.Bolinsky@housegop.ct.gov  
Charles Clemons Charles.D.Clemons@cga.ct.gov  
Kevin Ryan Kevin.Ryan@cga.ct.gov  
Joan Hartley Hartley@senatedems.ct.gov  
Joe Markley Joe.Markley@cga.ct.gov  
Andrew Maynard Maynard@senatedems.ct.gov  
Clark Chapin Clark.Chapin@cga.ct.gov  
Robert Kane Rob.Kane@cga.ct.gov  
Whit Betts whit.betts@housegop.ct.gov  
Frank Nicastro Frank.Nicastro@cga.ct.gov  
Robert Sampson rob.sampson@housegop.ct.gov  
Catherine Abercrombie Catherine.Abercrombie@cga.ct.gov  
Patricia Dillon Patricia.Dillon@cga.ct.gov  
Toni Walker Toni.Walker@cga.ct.gov  
Gary Holder-Winfield Gary.Holder-Winfield@cga.ct.gov  
Juan Candelaria Juan.Candelaria@cga.ct.gov  
Jason Perillo jason.perillo@housegop.ct.gov  
Themis Klarides Themis.Klarides@housegop.ct.gov  
Christina “Tita” Ayala Christina.Ayala@cga.ct.gov  
Ezequiel Santiago Ezequiel.Santiago@cga.ct.gov  
Terrie Wood Terrie.Wood@housegop.ct.gov  
Gail Lavielle gail.lavielle@housegop.ct.gov  
Patricia Billie Miller Patricia.Miller@cga.ct.gov  
Beth Bye Bye@senatedems.ct.gov  
Terry Gerratana Gerratana@senatedems.ct.gov  
Toni Harp Harp@senatedems.ct.gov  
Kevin Kelly Kevin.Kelly@cga.ct.gov  
Bob Duff Duff@senatedems.ct.gov  

 

Check out our blog, CSU CONNects

The CSU CONNects blog connects local communities to the great events, education, and research going on at the four Connecticut State Universities.

Members Only

Join CSU-AAUP's Discussion Group for members only

Follow the link above. Register your PERSONAL e-mail account with Google (university e-mail addresses are not allowed). Submit your name and 8 digit ID number (found on your university ID at CCSU, ECSU, and SCSU). If you have any problems signing up, please contact bensonell@ccsu.edu.